top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDeshi Caroline Mc Nab

Lavender Chronicles

Updated: May 10, 2019

Don't touch my hair!

Rollers how I grew to embrace and appreciate them but not let my hair define me.



As a young girl I grew up absolutely my hating my hair it was was thick and hard to manage and I was constantly reminded that I did not have "good" hair. I dreaded Sundays after church why because that meant my aunt had to do my hair in other words put rollers in my hair. It would take hours for my hair to dry and once they did they would have so much volume which would make them even harder to handle causing me to put a lot of product in my hair. The thing about rollers is they come in different sizes small, medium, large and extra large. The length of your hair determined the size of the roller the purple roller was every girl in my positions dream because that meant that you've "made it" it meant you had long hair sounds silly yea but that was how it was


Why couldn't I just wash my hair and go about my business and be fine with it in its true natural form but no we spent hours doing this because my hair "type" was not acceptable. In my family I had the "worst" hair my mother did not know what to with it my aunt was the only one that could handle my mane. Throughout middle school I started with green rollers they were medium size and towards the end I moved up to the orange rollers which were large this is was how I measured my hair the longer it grew the better I felt. By the middle of high school I finally made it to PURPLE rollers. Nothing made me happier than knowing that my hair grew it was long and pretty and like the rest of family still a different texture but now I had the length at least I would not stand out that much anymore.


Society dictated how I wore my hair and how I felt about it for two decades it took me a long time to embrace and accept who I am and what I have. Our hair plays an important role in our lives because our hair is part of our identity whether you admit it or not. Lavender Chronicles was inspired by my story but it is also a fun bold look which works for day and night and one of my absolute favourite colours!


Get the look:

Primer - Maybeline Master prime

Foundation- Huda Beauty Faux filter foundation shade Brown sugar

Concealer- Maybeline Fit me concealer shade medium 25

Eyebrows- Revlon brow pencil

Eyeshadow- inner lid Huda- precious gems, middle lid- Too face chocolate gold,

crease- Anastasia Beverly hills

Eyeliner- NYX- Epic ink liner

Mascarra NYX- Super luscious mascarra

Bronzer- Bagsy

Highlight- Anastasia Beverly hills- Aurora glow highlight

Lips- Fenty Beauty- Unbuttoned

Final tip: blend like crazy!!!!!!


 








22 views0 comments
bottom of page